Traffic Lights

I was driving home from a meeting today and hit one last red light. As it shifted to green again, I noted that the corresponding crosswalk started counting down for pedestrians at the same exact moment. The first thought to enter my mind was that this is life itself: it starts ending as soon as it begins. Perhaps this idea is superbly morbid, in which case, I blame the death that surrounds us when working in healthcare. Still, it made me reconsider just how exactly I spend my time. Is it with purpose? Does each second count? So much of it has been squandered already, and I feel compelled to be productive tonight to make the most of what is left.

About Alice

Student pharmacist by day, self-published author on nights and weekends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

